Arkansas CPESN Facilitator Smith Named Preceptor of the Year

06 Oct 2022

Arkansas CPESN Managing Network Facilitator Megan G. Smith was the recipient of the Preceptor of the Year Award by the NCPA Foundation. Smith is a pharmacist at The Pharmacy at Wellington in Little Rock, Arkansas. See the announcement below.

Megan G. Smith, PharmD, BCACP, a community pharmacist at The Pharmacy at Wellington in Little Rock, Ark., and an assistant professor of pharmacy practice at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy, was named the recipient of the 2022 National Preceptor of the Year Award by the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation as part of NCPA’s Annual Convention, which was held Oct. 1-4, in Kansas City, Mo. This award recognizes a pharmacist who has made a significant contribution to the education of pharmacy students as a preceptor in a community practice setting.

Smith is an advocate for elevating community pharmacy practice through teaching and research. She is the residency program director for UAMS PGY1 Community-Based Residency Program, and helped to launch the Arkansas Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services Network. She obtained her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Eshelman School of Pharmacy, completed a PGY1 community pharmacy residency at Kerr Drug, and completed training in practice-based research and education through a community pharmacy research fellowship at UNC.

In addition to being a member of NCPA, Smith is chapter co-adviser for the NCPA student chapter at UAMS and is an active member of the American Pharmacists Association and the Arkansas Pharmacists Association.


The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor John W. Dargavel, who was executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD), now NCPA. Contributions to the foundation are tax-deductible as charitable donations to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The NCPA Foundation promotes the sustainability and growth of independent community pharmacies through scholarships, grants, and ownership development. For more information, go to